How She Got Here-

October 7, 2009

At my doctor’s appointment at 37.5 weeks, the doctor told me that she expected to see the baby within the week. Of course, that did not happen. I was quite frustrated because I was more than ready to get her out! I made it to my 38 week appointment and had only dilated a little bit more. That doctor told me that he thought that I had a 50/50 chance of making it to my 39 week appointment. And wouldn’t you know it…I made it to my 39 week appointment. After trying to stimulate labor with the stripping of my membranes and doing lots of walking, the contractions stopped. And nothing happened on Thursday or Friday.

Friday afternoon my phone rang and it was a call from my doctor’s office. I was surprised that they were calling me because my next appointment wasn’t until Wednesday. On the phone was my doctor herself! She was wondering what was going on and why I hadn’t already delivered! She thought for sure that I would have been in the hospital on Wednesday night having a baby. She told me that she was on call for the weekend and she wanted me to come down to the hospital and get checked out. She said there was no promises of me being able to stay but that if I was at least five centimeters dilated I could stay and we’d have the baby. I was a little leery to pack everybody up and get Little Monkey and Roland to my sister and then us end up being sent back home.

We decided that we would take the chance and I started running around the house getting everyone packed up. Big Monkey was up at a friend’s house in our neighborhood, so I called him and let him know what was going on. He suggested I go on a walk before we headed down to the hospital in hopes that we could get some contractions going. My sister came and got Little Monkey and Roland and I took a walk around our neighborhood. I ended up at the top of the hill where Big Monkey was. He was nice enough to drive me back home. I finished packing and we both were able to take showers and head to the hospital. We stopped for some dinner (we learned this last time…eat before you go!) and then headed for the hospital.


Where Are We?

October 7, 2009

As you can see, I haven’t posted for a few days. Needless to say that things are a little hectic and different around here. We are just trying to find our new way of life. I have been working on writing the story of what happened during Little Monkette’s birth, but it is hard to find the time to sit and type it all out. I will try and start posting it in sections so that at least you get something and it won’t be too much to read all in one sitting.

We are working on getting things figured out as to how things work with our new family of four. Yesterday we took Little Monkette to the Doctor for her checkup. She looks great and so far is doing very well. We still await the results of her PKU test though. Hopefully we will know before the end of the week.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.