Dollar Store Education

April 1, 2010

Lacing Beads

I was looking for a few things at the dollar store the other day for our upcoming camping trip. I was excited to find something else. (The dollar store can be a dangerous place. You go in for one or two things and come out having spent $30! I haven’t done that but I do know it can be easy. Not everything at the dollar store is a good deal.)

In the toy section, I spotted these beads. I ended up buying two packs at $1 each. I was very excited about the possibilities for Little Monkey with the lacing activity, patterns we could make, etc. Little Monkey was not as excited. Maybe one day he will be more excited but I thought they were a good deal. We will keep working on it and see if he comes around.

I have also found some flashcards at the dollar store before. I ended up punching a hole in the corner of every card and putting them on rings for Little Monkey to be able to flip through. We should probably get those out again and see how he’s doing. :)

All this to say-don’t overlook the dollar store…sometimes they have some great things that you can use for educational toys. You might recall this post where I found some stuff at the dollar store to make homemade lacing cards. A little imagination and you might be surprised what you can use from the dollar store!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.