Birthday Canvas

I had seen “subway art” all over the place on the web recently. I thought it could be fun to do but couldn’t decide what I would make. Then I saw this running themed subway art at Paisley Passions. She gave good pictures and instructions, so I knew I could do it too. I have never made anything like this before but I thought I would give it a try for Amy’s birthday. Amy has been running a lot lately and I thought it might be a fun, personal gift for her.

I got a 2pack of canvases at Michael’s, painted one silver and then started cutting letters with our Cricut machine. At first I used some contact paper but it proved to be difficult to work with. I picked up some vinyl instead and it was MUCH easier. Here is the canvas after some of the words had been applied.

Running themed words

Once I had all the spaces filled up (with running words, names of races she competed in and her time for her first half-marathon), I took the canvas outside to spray paint the entire thing.

 

Totally Black

Once the spray paint had time to dry, I started peeling off all the pieces of contact paper and vinyl.

 

Finished product!

Overall, I really like how it turned out. It was more work than I thought it would be. I was planning to do another one for us, but I’m not sure yet what theme I would use.

I am sharing this post at:


Show and Tell Green

One Response to Birthday Canvas

  1. Holly says:

    I love it.. and now I get it :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

