Book Review: Choosing To See

Choosing To See

I asked for this book for Christmas and received it. (Funny I asked for two books…before this I don’t even know the last non-children’s book I read cover to cover!) I was able to pick up this book when we went camping over new year’s and got about half of it read.

Choosing to See was a book that I honestly didn’t want to put down. I wanted to just sit and read it straight through, but even camping, that wasn’t possible. I did try and get some reading in at night and nap time once we got back. It didn’t take much longer before I had finished the book.

It was a great read. Lots of ups and downs, happy and sad, you’ll laugh and cry. I learned a lot about the Chapman family that I didn’t know before (For instance, Mary Beth’s last name was Chapman even before she got married to Steven! How handy was that!). The book shows their amazing faith and strong belief in God and how he will provide in all situations. No one wants to bury their child and they certainly don’t want to have to do so because of the actions of another child.

Mary Beth tells about life before Steven, life with Steven, life with their kids, adopting their three girls and all that comes with it. I was amazed by their belief and faith in God. Not sure why, because of course they have great faith in God, but in the unbelievably hard times they still did and while they may have questioned God and his decisions, they never questioned that he was in control.

I would recommend this book, especially to moms, but really anyone could get something great out of it. I have already loaned out my copy but once it comes back, I would consider reading it again as well as loaning it out more.

Thank you Mary Beth Chapman (who by the way has no clue who I am or that I’m writing this) for your willingness to share your experiences with the world. It was a blessing to read how God has changed your family through every circumstance. From being a SCC fan, it was cool to read about how things came together for you guys back in the day. I remember The Great Adventure-we sang that music with our church youth group for choir tour!

2 Responses to Book Review: Choosing To See

  1. Holly says:

    well maybe i should borrow it :)

  2. Becky says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    I asked for, and received this book for Christmas, too! It only took me 2 days to read it! I would have been finished sooner but life got in the way ;o)
    They are a wonderful family and I truly believe that they live what they say. We were able to meet Steven Curtis Chapman after a concert he did here a few years ago … so neat!
    Anyways, tonight I started One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp. I would recommend that, or I Will Carry You by Angie Smith, as your next read. Both excellent books!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

