How old do I look?

Okay, don’t really answer that…because I know that I don’t look my age. I am told (and have been told for more years than I can recall) that one day I will be glad that I don’t look my age. I don’t know when that day will come but so far I don’t think that I look THAT much younger than I am. That being said, I went to Publix the other day to get Little Monkey some medicine for his coughing. I also picked up some ground turkey meat for our dinner and two bottles of Gatorade to make Little Monkey some popsicles. I go to check out in the express lane and had my reusable green bag with me. I let the cashier know about the bag so that she would not start bagging the items, but instead pass them on to me. She says okay and tells me how she thinks they are so great because they hold so much stuff. I agree with this and it has kept MANY plastic bags out of my house since we got them. She sends down the ground turkey meat and then looks at the computer funny. She tries to scan the item again (children’s cough medicine) and looks at the computer again. Then she looks at me, back at the computer, back to the cough medicine, back to the computer and then again to me. Then she asked me for my id. I of course showed it to her and was surprised to know that in order to buy some children’s cough medicine you must be old enough. I am assuming that age requirement to be 18 but I could be wrong. So apparently, I look quite young…young enough to have to show my id to prove that I am at least 18 years old and can purchase cough medicine. Good thing I had taken my purse in and not just my credit card! That would have been crazy to have to run out to the car from my id to get cough medicine!  🙂

2 Responses to How old do I look?

  1. allisonbarton says:

    (I found your blog through the comment about bagging on thriftymommy!)

    Ha! The exact same thing happened to me not too long ago, although I AM pretty young, so I have to expect it. Honestly, I try to tell myself that it is nice that people think I look like a teenager because, like you said, later in life it’ll be a good thing. Right? Right. (It doens’t always work. I get really frustrated when people think I’m some terrible teenage mother.)

    -Allison

  2. Joe O. says:

    Did she run your ID through her register? Or just check the age. There are now laws to limit the sale of cough syrups because of the ability to make meth out of it. So I’m guessing they card to prevent teenagers from starting meth labs…

    Why you would be carded for 18? I don’t know…you do look younger than you are. I bet you could look EVEN younger with the right makeup…then again you could probably look older with the right makeup…:)

    I NEVER get carded…FOR ANYTHING…which according to Florida State law means I look over 35 to these people!!!!! Thirty flippin five!!!!! 😦

Leave a comment