Another good day at CVS

After the gym today, we stopped off at CVS to pick up some things. There were a few things that are free after Extra Care Bucks that I hadn’t already picked up. I’m all for free stuff. My goal was to have a bill of $50 so that I could use my $10 off a $50 purchase. This wasn’t going to be hard this time around.

I got the following:

Ascensia Control Monitor $14.99
Precision Xtra Monitor $19.99
Softsoap Spa $4.99
2-CVS Diapers size 4 $8.99each
3-Peanut Butter M&Ms $0.50each

Here’s the breakdown:
Rough Total (no taxes included) $59.45
The CVS brand diapers were Buy one get one free, so -$8.99. Once that happened I was no longer above $50 without taxes and the register wouldn’t take my $10 off $50 purchase. This is the reason we got the three bags of M&Ms.
I had a coupon from the newspaper for the Ascensia Monitor for $30 off. Since it only cost $14.99, they adjusted the coupon to reflect that, so -$14.99.
The $10 off $50 purchase coupon worked after getting the M&Ms, so -$10.00
Are you keeping up? 🙂
When I scanned my CVS card at the store price checker/coupon machine today, it gave me a $3 off $10 CVS Brand purchase. I was able to use this on the diapers, which I got because I knew it would end up being free and we needed some anyway so I thought we’d try them. I’ve actually heard good things about them, so -$3.00
I used a $19.96 Extra Care Buck to pay and then owed $2.51. I paid the $2.51 with a gift card I received from a transferred prescription previously.

Now for the best part.
Total Merchandise Original Cost (Before any CVS Sales) $178.32 (Those diabetes monitors are not cheap normally.)
Total I actually paid in Extra Care Bucks and giftcard $22.47
Total I received back in Extra Care Bucks for future use $39.97

So I got $178.32 worth of merchandise and in the end CVS paid me $17.50 to take it all home. 🙂
We do not have a use for the diabetes monitors (but they were money makers) so I took them to the Fire Dept. One brand is that kind they use and it always helps to have extras. The other they will give to someone who needs one.

So not a bad day at all. CVS paid me $17.50 and I got two diabetes monitors to donate, 2 packs of diapers, 3 packs of M&Ms, and 1 Softsoap Spa Body Wash.

2 Responses to Another good day at CVS

  1. Joe O. says:

    I don’t know how you do this…I can barely figure out a buy 1 sock get one free sale…

  2. amypaul says:

    you crack me up. Joe, I agree…my brain just doesn’t work this way. I didn’t get the math genes in the Paul family… 🙂

Leave a Reply

