Gym Workout with Trainer

Also known as: Morning That My Body Almost Fell Apart!

I went to the gym this morning for the first of the three free personal training sessions that I won. My trainer is probably 6 feet something and probably 200 something lbs of pure muscle. And then there was me…5’3″, 113lbs, definitely NOT pure muscle! I dropped Little Monkey off in the childcare room and did ten minutes on the treadmill before my time started with my trainer. We first started out by stretching for a few minutes. We then started over to the “arms/chest/free weights section of the gym.” Every single machine that we used today, I had never used before. I told him that I didn’t hang out on that side of the gym ever! First we did the chest press machine…which went okay for the first set. Then we moved over to the assisted pull up machine. He said that if you can’t do a pullup on your own, this is a good machine to help you with that. And then he says, “Can you do a pull up?”ย I laughed a little and said no. So off we go on the machine. I did okay but he would continue pushing on the weights to “help” me continue the rest of the reps. After this I think was lunges, ten in one direction across the gym and ten back to where I started. He told me I wasn’t taking big enough steps! Around this time, I told him that I wasn’t going to come back for Friday’s session! To which he said, “You won’t be able to move on Friday.” After that, we did the chest press, pull ups and lunges again for two more sets. It was hard. I tried to explain to him that while I have been coming to the gym for a couple months, I am in no way an athlete or “in shape.” He tried to say that yes I was….I was a tennis player but I told him I only play tennis on the Wii! He laughed.

The next set of exercises was free weights, doing arm curls and some other arm workout! ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know the name. We also did a machine that you pull the bar down towards your chest from over your head. These exercises were followed by free squats and squats with a jump. We repeated this set of exercises two more times. I also learned that my trainer must have learned to count from Little Monkey. While I was doing my squats (and counting myself) he says, “That’sย three right?” I say, “No! It is six!” Some exercises we would do ten reps, some would be 12 and some 15. I never knew when we were stopping. Often I thought it was ten and then I’d get there and he’d say three more, but sometimes would count, ” 1,2,2,3.” And well, unless you are Little Monkey, you know that is not right.

I was getting tired and he asked if I was okay. I said that I was so far. He asked me if I was going to get sick and at that point, I said, “Not yet!” Next we went back to more free weights for arm workouts followed by squats on the wall with the balance ball. And as I was doing the last squat, then he would say, “Good now hold it for 15 seconds.” And then he would proceed to count like this, “1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 14, 15, ok.” I think it was on the third rep of the exercise sets when we were back at the squats on the balance ball at the wall that I started to really not feel good. I stopped in the middle of the reps and my trainer sounded disappointed when he told me not to stop. I shook my head and said, “No I don’t feel good.” I knew it (It was a feeling that I remember that has happened plenty in my life and I knew I was pretty close to either being sick or passing out.) He opened the back door of the gym to let me go outside (although it seemed just as hot out there). I sat down for a few trying to get myself back to normal. He checked on me and asked if I was okay or if I had gotten sick. I was iffy but not sick yet. He said to just relax and he’d check on me in a minute. I did end up throwing up (and yes Dad I did eat breakfast like you told me to) but that made me feel better. My trainer brought me a Gatorade. I started drinking it and did feel better. I went back in the gym and was doing much better.

After that, he decided we were done with chest and arm exercises and would finish up on abs. We went over to the mats and he said, “Lay down, but don’t fall asleep!” (As if that was really going to happen!) I think by the time we finished the assorted abs exercises I had done over 120 crunches. My muscles all over my body hurt and were shaking some too. The good news was that we were done for the day! He even gave me a t-shirt for my efforts. I told him that we would be back on Friday and hopefully I won’t get sick then. He said that I better show up for my 9am session, or he would track me down! I got Little Monkey out of childcare and he told everyone bye. I had told him earlier in the day that we were going to go to Big Bounce with some of his friends from church and boy did he remember. He was already saying, “Slide? Slide? Jump?” before we even left the building. I didn’t think it would be possible for us to go, but I went home, showered and felt better. So I grabbed some snacks for both of us and we headed off to Big Bounce.

I’m not feeling too sore so far today but I imagine I will feel it tomorrow…and again on Friday…and probably Saturday. ๐Ÿ™‚ At least I’m getting a good idea of some of the things I should be trying to work on while at the gym.

2 Responses to Gym Workout with Trainer

  1. Holly says:

    YOU ARE GOING TO BE HURTING TOMORROW!! Oh momma! God love you. I love’d reading this blog- so funny, you had me laughing. Excellent writing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Joe O. says:

    I’m gonna agree with holly…tomorrow you aren’t gonna be able to move. Better get ready to call someone to help with paul! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

