Walgreens/Kellogg’s Deals

Today, Little Monkey and I went to Walgreens to buy the items that were on sale for the Kellogg’s deal. They had register rewards (similar to CVS’s ECB) and there was a rebate in Sunday’s paper for buying the items. I planned out my trip with exactly what I was going to buy and had lots of coupons to use as well. The way I had it figured, after register rewards and the mail in rebate, I would have made roughly $2 and gotten all these items. Seems like a good plan to me. When I got to the store however, it did not play out quite that way. Supposedly, even though it is not posted anywhere (like in the ad), you will not get register rewards if you use manufacturer’s coupons. I told the Store Manager that could not be the case because I bought all the needed items, used a manufacturer’s coupon for each one and I did get two $5 register rewards, but the third one did not print. He still states this is because I only spent $20, not the $30 required. Are you lost yet? I didn’t really get it because nowhere does it say that you cannot use manufacturer’s coupons on these items. I plan to contact Walgreens to ask for their clarification on this matter (Or maybe some one out there has an explanation.). So here is what I did.

I bought:
2-Raisin Bran Cereals
1-Froot Loops Cereal
1-Frosted Flakes Cereal
2-Rice Krispy Treats
2-PopTarts
2-Fudge Shoppe Cookies
2-Special K Cereal Bars
2-Special K Bliss Cereal Bars

Coupons:
$1 off two Kellogg’s cereals
$1 off two Raisin Bran cereals
$1 off two Rice Krispy treats
$1 off two Fudge Shoppe cookies
$1 off two PopTarts
4-$1 off one Special K cereal bars

I got back $10 in register rewards (should have been $15) and will send out for my $10 mail in rebate from Kellogg’s. In the end, even without  getting that last register reward, I will have only paid about $3 for everything. 🙂

Now that I’ve thought about it for a while, I think I might know why the third register rewards did not print out. The Froot Loops cereal was a larger box than what the sign in front of it for the sale said. I asked if it would count because it was the only size they carry (This was the case for all the other cereals in the sale too. The Frosted Flakes I got was the last one of that size.). I was told that it would. It did ring up at the right sale price but I’m guessing that might be why I didn’t get the last register reward.

3 Responses to Walgreens/Kellogg’s Deals

  1. Cristy says:

    Fantastic…hopefully they will be able to give you an answer as to why you did not received the RR

  2. micheel says:

    I was at walgreens here in Ia. Here you had to split up the snacks to get all rewards. I did ceral & 1 group of snacks

    on one tran. & the other group of snacks on a 2nd tran. We did not get the coupons in our paper so I did not have any to use.

  3. sunshinekmp says:

    Kati Here: I wanted/needed to do them together for the mail in rebate also. I will wait to hear from Walgreens, but even still it’s not a bad deal.

Leave a Reply

