Cocoatastrophe

The other day I decided I really wanted these cookies that I had at a friend’s baby shower. I had already emailed the person who made them to get the recipe. I wanted to check to see if I had all the ingredients before I got too excited about having them. Sugar, check. Butter, check. Milk, check. Peanut Butter, check. Cocoa, ummmm check!

Clean up in the pantry!!! Apparently I didn’t pick up much of the cocoa container and therefore the lid came off in my hand while the rest tumbled to the floor resulting in lots of cocoa leaving a nice dusting of itself on the floor, step stool, Little Monkey’s step stool and some food boxes that are on the floor. It also left a not so nice dusting, more of an avalanche of cocoa on the floor, the pantry door, my arm, my legs and my shoes. We’ve got a Cocoatastrophe!!! And of course, Big Monkey and Little Monkey were in the pool at the time.

How should one clean up spilled cocoa? I’m not really sure but I did vacuum most of it (probably not the brightest idea but it worked) and then cleaned everything with spray cleaner and paper towels. The house smelled like chocolate, which is kinda nice, but I’m sure it will now smell like cocoa every time I vacuum too!

Eventually, I did find the other needed ingredients and made the cookies. They were not quite ready before we went to bed (but I still ate one!) so I put them in the oven so that Amos would not eat them. In the morning they were ready to go and quite yummy.

Since I know you’re hoping to have a Cocoatastrophe of your own, I will give you the recipe for these cookies. Thanks to Brooke for sending it to me.

2 c. sugar
1/2 c. milk
2 heaping tbsp. cocoa
1 stick butter

Combine these 4 ingredients, beginning with butter, in a pan on the stove.  Bring to a boil.  Boil rapidly for one minute.  Remove from heat and add the following:

2 1/2 c. oatmeal (Quaker Oats 1 minute oatmeal that comes in a tub)
1/2 c. peanut butter

Mix thoroughly and drop by teaspoon onto wax paper.  Let them sit until they peel off easily and then enjoy.

Wow I’m glad I looked at the recipe. I think I put in almost a full cup of peanut butter! I’ll have to remember that next time! Enjoy your cookies!

4 Responses to Cocoatastrophe

  1. Joe O. says:

    mmmmm…maybe I’ll have you come over and cook these for me!?

    I LOVE peanut butter…so maybe a full cup would work eh? 😀

    As far as the cocoa…I’m pretty sure I would break out the dust buster, I mean…you use like a sponge or something and your gonna have chocolate everywhere aren’t ya?

  2. mom says:

    You already had this recipe in the Sanford cookbook…it is mine!

    Kati Here: I don’t know if/where that book might be. And I asked you for it before and you didn’t know where it was. And I didn’t recall yours having peanut butter. Oh well, we made some and they were yummy (and surprisingly not gone yet!).

  3. amypaul says:

    I just had a close call myself with the cocoa…some still ended up on the floor, but not as bad as it could have been. UGH!

  4. amypaul says:

    Working on a double batch of these right now!

Leave a Reply

