Brand Name or Store Brand?

I often do not mind buying store brand items but there are some items that I will only buy brand name. This week I picked up some store brand shells and cheese. I figured it would be just like the regular Velveeta Shells and Cheese. Sadly I found out that this was not the case. The store brand shells and cheese were actually quite salty compared to Velveeta. This has not discouraged me from trying other store brand items, but for Velveeta Shells and Cheese…we will be back to the name brand, bought during buy one get one free sales.

Here are a few other things I will not buy store brand:
Charmin T.P.
Bounty Paper Towels
Oreos
LeSueur Peas
Miracle Whip

I’m sure there are more but that’s all I’ve come up with right now. So even though I had this one bad experience, most experiences with store brands are pretty good. And many stores offer guarantees on their brand, so you should not worry about giving it a try.

What are a few items that you have tried and either liked or not liked of the store brand version?

2 Responses to Brand Name or Store Brand?

  1. Joe O. says:

    I think that no store brand comes near Dr. Pepper, but sometimes I too cheap and buy Wal-Mart’s “Dr. Thunder.”

    I actually prefer Kraft’s Cheese and Macaroni, but Publix brand isn’t bad (especially since they often sell 10 boxes for $10).

  2. Holly says:

    I like the Publix brand shells and cheese…
    publix brand paper plates, the ones like the dixie plates…
    that’s all I can think of for now. 🙂 I gave you an award so look at my blog and accept it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

