Little Monkey and St. Nick

Yesterday I took Little Monkey to the library to go to storytime and to see St. Nick and his “grey”deer. We were also going there to drop off a Little Tikes car for Jessica to take home for her son.

Just the day before we had seen Santa at the mall but Little Monkey was not thrilled with him and would only give him a high five. He would NOT sit on his lap although he suggested that I sit on his lap. Yesterday went much better. He listened to the story very well. He did not want to sit by himself for the story but I convinced him to sit on the rabbit part of the rug because it was close to me. And he took me quite literally and sat on the rabbit in a way that he could see both the book and me if need be. He finally got comforatble and turned around to look just at the book.

St. Nick came in after we read the book and Little Monkey was quite interested this time. (Maybe he’s just afraid of the Santa in a red suit.) Little Monkey went and talked to St. Nick but when St. Nick asked what he wanted for Christmas, he didn’t have an answer. St. Nick asked him if he forgot. Little Monkey said yeah. πŸ™‚ He also got a candy cane, which he tried to open but I told him we couldn’t have it right now (mainly because I didn’t know if he could have it at all). He didn’t want to give it up but would say, “I can’t like that.” He finally traded it for the camera so he could take a picture of St. Nick himself.

Overall it went well and he had a good time. He also liked talking to the “Grey”deer. We even checked out a book. I was quite impressed with this part (Lame I know).Β  They have self check out in the kids section so we went there. I put my card on the computer and it scanned it in. Then Little Monkey set his book up on the computer and it knew what it was and checked it out to us. We didn’t even have to scan the barcode, it just knew. This impressed me. I had not seen this before. Jessica explained to me that it has a computer chip and that is how it knew what book it was without us even getting close to the barcode. πŸ™‚ Cool.

2 Responses to Little Monkey and St. Nick

  1. Joe O. says:

    Jessica and her crew of book worms are pretty smart πŸ™‚

  2. Joe O. says:

    And what is a “grey”deer?

    Kati Here: They were greyhound dogs with reindeer antlers. πŸ™‚ I didn’t end up with a good photo really so they didn’t make the blog.

Leave a Reply

