Christmas Tree Ornaments

I found a cute idea online last week and thought I would try it out with Little Monkey. I saved the website and made sure we had everything we needed. I told Little Monkey we were going to paint (something he likes to do) but first he had to finish his lunch. We set the timer, like we have been doing lately and off he went. The only problem was that he did not finish eating before the timer the went off. So he did not get to help with the painting part of the project.

I started with old puzzle pieces that we have on hand for crafting only. I put them down on some craft paper and flipped them all over so the actual puzzle was facing down. I then painted the backs of the puzzle pieces green and brown. After they dried and Little Monkey woke up from his nap, we got out the glue and worked on gluing the pieces together to look like a Christmas tree. (Sorry there are no photos of these parts of the process, but I’m pretty sure you can figure it out!) We then let the Christmas trees sit so that they could dry.

Once the Christmas trees were dry, we got out the glue, stars, and sparklies to decorate our trees. Little Monkey loved decorating the trees. I put dots of glue down on the trees and he would add the stars and sparklies. Here he is hard at work on his creations:

We finally finished all the decorating and Little Monkey headed off to bed. The trees still need to have some ribbon attached to them so that they can hang on the tree, but basically they are done. And even if you don’t like them, please act like it for Little Monkey’s sake if he gives you one!

2 Responses to Christmas Tree Ornaments

  1. Uncle K says:

    Don’t know if I’m getting one but I’ll even act surprised like I didn’t know it was coming!

  2. Mom says:

    Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

