Good Thrift Store Buy

Not too long ago, I hit up a bunch of thrift stores in our area. I was mainly looking for a fan for Big Monkey to take to work with him but I did not end up getting one (There was one at the first store that would have worked but I didn’t want to pay their price and figured I would find one at another store. Sadly, that did not happen and Big Monkey still doesn’t have a fan.)

While checking out a few other stores, I did stumble upon a great item. We have been interested in getting a Roomba (or the Scooba) for a while now. We had planned to borrow my parent’s Roomba to test out how it would do in our house (with the dog hair and all) but we never did. I found a basket at one store with a Scooba, battery, battery charger, invisible wall and cleaning solution. The note on it said that the unit did work and they were selling it for $50. Normally these machines sell for over $200. We decided to take a gamble on it and hope that it really did work. I figured that if we couldn’t get it to work, we could probably get $50 out of it (or close to it) by selling off the parts and such.

I got it home, charged up the battery and decided to give it a go. I had looked up the manual online and read it so that I could figure out how to make it work. I did everything it said, and nothing. Well, a light came on claiming that the tank didn’t have any water/cleaning solution in it but it most definitely did. I tried a few things but got nowhere. I put the machine away for a couple of days and then found some videos online that showed how people got their Scoobas to work when it had this same issue. I figured I would give it a try. I got the machine all ready to go and turned it on to see what would happen. Wouldn’t you know it…the darn thing decided to work! I was very excited. It did clean the kitchen for me, but I had some issues with the invisible wall. I ended up just making myself the wall to keep it in the kitchen. The machine did do a good job although that time it stopped before it was done because the battery died. I think it was because the battery had not be used much and it had been sitting.

This week, I took the Scooba out again to see if it would continue to work. Sure enough, it worked like a charm. This time I put less water/cleaning solution in the tank than before because the room is smaller than what a full tank would cover. The little machine did a great job and cleaned the floor very well. I’m still having issues with the invisible wall, but we’ll get them figured out. The next step is getting the Scooba to mop the entire dining/living room! Overall though, so far I am quite happy with my new Scooba machine, especially with the price. It could be quieter when it does its work but I can live with it if it means I don’t have to mop!

4 Responses to Good Thrift Store Buy

  1. Joe O. says:

    How cute…I want to get one for my house…but I think my cats would kill it!!

  2. Mom says:

    Technology is great…..when it works!

  3. Judy says:

    What a wonderful buy! I’ve had a Roomba for a bit over three years now and love it. I didn’t realize they made one that used cleaning solution. That’s just too cool. Good for you.

  4. Judy says:

    O…and as for cats killing one, maybe, but we’ve got two Boxers and a Great Dane that leave ours alone.

Leave a Reply

