Aldi Shopping

Recently, Aldi started opening stores in Florida. I had heard a lot about Aldi online and in some frugal blogs, so I wanted to go check it out. The only one in our county is actually pretty far away but we did stop one night and took a look around. Another day I was out having a day to myself and I stopped in an Aldis and picked up a few things to try.

Big Monkey claims that I was trying to trick him with this endeavour. When we had gone before, we noticed that they had wine for rather cheap but Big Monkey told me that he would NOT drink cheap wine. I bought a bottle and put it with our other wine. Around the same time I had picked up some wine from World Market. So he assumed that ALL the wine was from World Market. When he tried the new wine I asked how it was and he was very surprised to learn that it was the ‘cheap’ wine from Aldi.

Since we have decided that we are okay with a few things from Aldi, I headed back there yesterday while running some other errands. I picked up quite a few things for $25.47. Here is a listing:

3 Bottles of Wine $2.99 each (Told you it was cheap wine!)
All Purpose Flour $1.69
Box of frozen mini sized cheese pizzas $2.29
1.85 lbs of Bananas $0.85
2 Yellow Rice Mixes $0.89 each
Whole Cantaloupe $1.59
12 pack Chicken Ramen Soup $1.76
5 lbs Ground Turkey $1.19 each

Not too shabby. The down side to Aldi…(minor) You have to bring a quarter if you want to use a cart. You will get your quarter back when you return the cart. You have to bring your own bags (or buy their bags) and bag your own groceries. They do NOT take credit cards. There is savings to be found there but you do have to be willing to take a chance on generic foods. Almost everything they carry is either their brand or generic. I figure we can test out items and see what we think, especially if the savings will be good.

2 Responses to Aldi Shopping

  1. Joe O. says:

    You tricked him with cheap wine!?!?!?

  2. Holly says:

    Let me know about the food. How was the wine?
    Sounds like a good spot for a bargain, maybe they will build one near me.
    I bet they will be pretty successful with the way the economy is. 🙂

    Kati Here: Big Monkey says the wine is alright, drinkable, but obviously not high dollar wine.

Leave a Reply

