Fun New Ties

Last month I found a cute tie pattern idea on another blog, Trey and Lucy. I thought the tie was so cute and really wanted to try it out for Little Monkey. Little Monkey decided that he wanted to have a Rock Band party for his birthday…yes I know…he’s only turning three. I thought it would be cute to make him a guitar tie for his party. I looked around at a couple of JoAnn’s and Walmart stores but I wasn’t able to find anything with guitars that didn’t also have skulls! I finally headed to Ebay and also Etsy to see what could be found. I was able to find some cute guitars that didn’t cost too much. The seller was very helpful and I picked up some other fabrics while I was there. She even helped me out by changing the shipping to priority so that I could make sure it would get here in time to make the tie for Little Monkey’s party.

The fabric arrived yesterday and in preparation for its arrival, I printed out the pattern and did a trial run with some other fun fabrics. After making the changes that I thought would help, I discovered that with my way of making them, the pattern was too small. Little Monkey and I headed out to the store to have the pattern blown up. The fabric arrived while we were gone! I was excited to get to work on the tie but decided that we should do another trial run with some fabric we already had on hand. The tie came out SO cute and Little Monkey loved it. I took a break and then continued on the project of making the Rock Band party tie.

After they were both done, I had Little Monkey put on a white button down shirt and take some pics. Turns out the elastic I measured out is just a bit too long but I think we can make it work. A small knot in the back will do for now and he’ll be able to wear his ties even longer! We plan to make some more and have them available for sale in our Etsy shop

Here is a look at Little Monkey in his new ties. Each tie is reversible. The one in the top left is the reverse of the one on the bottom right. (Both greenish with stripes.) The blue with green dots (Little Monkey picked it out) is the reverse of the guitar tie. He was so proud to show them off! (These were quick pictures, so yes his top button and collar buttons are not buttoned…hopefully we’ll get some better pictures from his party this weekend.)

2 Responses to Fun New Ties

  1. Joe O. says:

    Those are cute…I really like the guitar one…and Little Monkey really loves to pose for the camera!

  2. Mom says:

    He is tooooooooooo cute!

Leave a Reply

