How We Told The Family, Part 3

After sending Little Monkey off to the beach for the weekend with his Grammy and Pops, I headed back towards home. I had to make a stop off to see GrandMom (Big Monkey’s Mom) because she had done some ironing for us and I needed to pick it up. I didn’t have a key to her place and she was at the gym, so I stopped in there. We chatted a little bit before her workout and before I got the key.

Before leaving, she asked what I would be doing all weekend since Little Monkey would be gone to the beach. (The entire time we were chatting I was trying to figure out how I would tell her about the baby…this just came to my head while we were talking!) I told her my plans, some cleaning, sewing, shopping and the rest of the time I’d probably just be incubating. She looked a little puzzled but then looked shocked and surprised. She was very excited, hugged me for a long time and then talked to the baby. She is very excited…just like everybody else, I don’t think she ever thought this day would come!

I left her to her workout, picked up our ironing and returned the key. On the way home, I called Aunt K to let her know too. (I wanted to let everybody in the family know as close to the same time as possible.) She was on the phone with J at the time, so I told her I would be quick or she could call me back. Well poor J, he was on hold for a long time until he finally hung up just before he got to Aunt K’s house! Aunt K was also excited but did ask if this was planned. (See no one thought we would EVER get pregnant again…heck we hardly thought we would either!) I also called Uncle K to let him know and he passed the information on to Aunt S. Big Monkey also called his Dad and let him know.

Sorry to the folks who did not get a cute t-shirt or funny saying to tell them about the new baby. I wanted everyone to know right about the same time, so calling some of you was the best way to get that done. I would say that next time I would make sure it was different….but I’m pretty sure I can tell you with 99.99% accuracy, that there will NOT be a next time. 🙂

2 Responses to How We Told The Family, Part 3

  1. Joe O. says:

    Never say never…

  2. Dad says:

    After Little Monkey came along you were 100% sure you would never get pregnant again, so with only 99.99% certainty I have to agree with Joe – never say never

Leave a Reply

