How She Got Here, Part 3

WARNING: This blog does contain a small amount of personal medical information that you may not want to know. 🙂 I wrote it so that I would remember what happened and hopefully it is not too detailed that it will freak/gross anyone out.

A bit later, the nurse came in to check on me since I hadn’t reported feeling any pressure or feeling like I needed to go to the bathroom. She asked me if I had any pressure and I said that I did have some. So she decided to check me to see how far along I was. I was surprised to learn that I was already at 10cm dilated and my water hadn’t broken yet either! The nurse said that she would call the Doctor to have her come to the room to break my water and we’d have a baby!

The Doctor came in and broke my water. She said that we should try and practice pushing during the contractions so that I could remember how to push the right way and get things going. Three contractions later the room was abuzz with nurses and the Doctor was trying to get the bed broken down so we could have the baby. I seriously thought that the baby was going to come before they were ready because it felt like she was already hanging out. Finally on contraction number four, Little Monkette came right out. Since things occurred SO quickly, I ended up with a second degree tear and had to get stitches. Overall the delivery went very well and much quicker than it did with Little Monkey.

Little Monkette was 6lbs, 13oz and 20.25in and born at 6:06am. She had blue eyes, dark brown hair, long fingers and long toes. She was perfect. I got to hold her right away (which I didn’t get to do with Little Monkey because he had a temperature and was whisked off pretty quick to the NICU.). Big Monkey took some pictures and checked her out and of course almost immediately was posting photos on Facebook to let everyone know that she was here. 🙂 What would we do without Facebook?!!??!??!

About an hour later we got moved to our private room and were able to settle in for the morning. Our families came and visited and Little Monkey got to meet Little Monkette. Little Monkey brought her a cute Monkey that he made at Build a Bear that morning.

Monkette from Build a Bear

Monkette from Build a Bear

One Response to How She Got Here, Part 3

  1. amy says:

    Happy to see you blogged tonight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

