Home Depot Kids Workshop

Yesterday morning I took Little Monkey over to Home Depot for a little mommy time. We went to build a wagon at the free kids workshop. Home Depot has free kids workshops on the first Saturday of the month. We have been to one other one before. Little Monkey liked it, so I wanted to try and take him to more. The past two months just didn’t end up working out. Yesterday morning ended up working out with Big Monkey being home to stay with Little Monkette while we went to Home Depot.

They did not have aprons again this time but we were able to build the wagon, paint it and get a pin and certificate of completion. I helped Little Monkey get things started and then put the parts down on the ground so he could finish hammering the nails in. He did a pretty good job.

Hammering in the nails.

After the wagon was together, we were allowed to paint it if we wanted to. Little Monkey, of course, wanted to paint his wagon. They had the option of either green or two different shades of red. We went to ask for paint and Little Monkey said he would like green. I asked him to pick out the right color on the table and the Home Depot employee picked it up and handed it to him before he chose the right one. She apologized for not allowing him to do it since it would be a learning experience. πŸ™‚ Oh well, he knows his colors anyway. He told me he wanted green because it was his favorite color. He painted the outside and top of his wagon and then asked me to help him finish it up. After we were done, he noticed another kid painting inside her wagon and he said he wanted to do that too. I convinced him that this was not a good idea and he decided against it because Buzz might get green on him if he rode in the wagon!

Painting his wagon green.

We returned out paint, got our pin and certificate. We went back to the car and I placed the wagon carefully in the car, hoping that we wouldn’t end up getting any paint on my seats or carpet. After Little Monkey was in his carseat and I got in the car, Little Monkey said that we needed to wait. I was already backing out of our parking space, so I asked him why. He said, “Can you open the door? My friend needs to come in.” I asked him where was his friend. He replied, “He’s standing in the street! Open the door for him!” I assured him that his friend got in the car when the doors were open and that his friend was sitting in the front passenger seat. Little Monkey told me that he wanted his friend to sit with him, so I told his friend to move to the back seat. That was the end of that. I have no idea who his “friend” is and he never mentioned him again even when we went to another store and back to the house. I suppose his friend is still sitting in the car! Crazy boy…he must get that from his Mimi!Β Β  πŸ™‚Β  Since we have been home, he has pulled Buzz and Woody around the house and also loaded up some of his cars for a ride around. He was very excited and proud to show Big Monkey what he had made.

3 Responses to Home Depot Kids Workshop

  1. amypaul says:

    Silly boy. Is his friend from California?

    Kati Here: I don’t know..I didn’t ask.

  2. Kerri says:

    The imaginary friend gave me the good laugh I needed today! My much younger sister had a “friend” named Gloria Gump, she traveled invisibly everywhere with us! πŸ™‚

  3. Mom says:

    At least there was only one friend. Mimi had 4 or 5 “friends”!!!

Leave a Reply

