Training For A 5K!

In October, my sister ran the Tower of Terror 5K. After she completed that race, there was some discussion about doing the next Disney 5K, which happens to be the Royal Family 5K in March. I must have been crazy but I was thinking it would be a good idea for me to participate. It would be an incentive to get back in shape (not that I was really “in shape” before). I don’t run. I hardly exercise. I’m not sure how I thought running a 5K would be a great idea. And yet here we are, I am training for the Disney Royal Family 5K.

The Royal Family 5K is happening in March and the run goes through part of Epcot. Right now I don’t think I could run 3.1 miles even if I tried. I’m not too worried about finishing though. You only have to keep pace of at least a 16 minute mile. I have discovered that I can WALK a 16 minute mile. I would like to do better than that though. So for now I am working on training for the 5K, hoping that I will be able to run most of it by then. I am working on a training schedule that Amy sent me. Today will be day four. I think I will take it as a day of rest. I think my biggest worry about the 5K (and part of the training process) is whether or not my body can really handle it. I get overheated very easily, so I am a little afraid I won’t be able to make it through the whole thing. (Tuesday night I did a five minute warm up walk, ten minutes of running and then five minutes of cool down walk. I don’t even know how I kept running but I did. By the time I was home and for quite a while after I was covered in spots and bumpy rash. This has been a lifelong issue, so I’m wondering how it will work to actually do the 5K.) I am already signed up and will have a race bib with my name on it so we’re definitely doing this.  This was actually part of my Christmas presents from my parents. They are paying my entry fee to the race and they bought me new running shoes. Amy bought me some new workout clothes to wear for my training and running too. So far a few of our friends have also signed up to participate so I am excited that we will have others there that we know.

One Response to Training For A 5K!

  1. Gerry says:

    We are actually doing this one too. Gabriella is going to do the kid’s one! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

