I Heart Faces “Best Face Photo”

January 11, 2010

I have decided today to enter I Heart Faces, “Best Face Photo” contest. They have a contest each week and I hope to continue to try and enter each week. Hopefully I can find something each week that fits the theme.

I chose today’s photo from the day we had Christmas morning. Little Monkey had no idea that he was getting a new bike for Christmas. He was SO excited when he saw it.

Check out I Heart Faces for more fun pictures.

A Dollar for Her Piggy Bank

January 11, 2010

A very weird experience happen to Little Monkette and me the other day. It was at least a bit odd to me.

Little Monkette and I were headed home from the baby shower, but we needed to stop at Publix to drop off our movie to Blockbuster Express and to pick up some green onions for the potato salad I was making. As we headed into the store an employee was bringing carts into the store. An older gentleman that was also headed into the store asked if we would need a cart. I said that we would and he got one for us from the employee. I thanked him and we went on our way. (No that was not the weird/odd experience.) 🙂

Once we got into the store, we headed over to the Blockbuster Express machine. The store was busy and it took a bit of maneuvering to get our cart through the crowd. Just as we were about to make it through, we got stopped by more traffic and an older man turned around and looked at Little Monkette. He was with his wife (I’m assuming) and was waiting for her to finish paying for their groceries. He reached into his pocket and pulled out a stack of bills. At first I was concerned that we looked like we needed money or something. (It was the coldest day of the year so far and we were bundled up quite a bit.) He took a one dollar bill from his stack of bills and placed it next to Little Monkette’s leg. She was sleeping and didn’t move at all. He told me that she was precious and that we were to take that dollar bill and put it in her piggy bank. I thanked him and told him that we would put it her bank.

It was a very weird experience for me. I guess because in this day, you don’t expect people to do things like that. I think he was just a happy old man who has the ability to do these kinds of things and enjoys seeing young people. It put a smile on my face and made me thankful that there really are still good people in the world. I realize it wasn’t much, just a dollar, but it was the gesture of kindness that was nice.