Bruschetta Chicken Bake

January 12, 2010

Photo From Kraftfoods.com

The other night we finally tried this recipe. I have a very large stack of pages that I have ripped from magazines with recipes or craft ideas that I want to try. I forget about these often but went through the stack the other day and pulled out a few recipes to try. Since this recipe is from Kraft Foods, they use specific Kraft branded ingredients but I used whatever we already had in the fridge/pantry or picked it up when I went to Aldi. For the cheese, I used a six cheese Italian blend that we had. I thought it was pretty good but would rather it have less tomatoes.  I also cooked it in a 13×9 pan and next time will use something smaller or a bowl-type dish.

Ingredients:
1 can (14-1/2 oz.) diced tomatoes, undrained
1 pkg.  (6 oz.) STOVE TOP Stuffing Mix for Chicken
1/2 cup water
2 cloves  garlic, minced
1-1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
1 tsp.  dried basil leaves
1 cup KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
Directions:
HEAT oven to 400ºF.
MIX tomatoes, stuffing mix, water and garlic just until stuffing mix is moistened.
LAYER chicken, basil and cheese in 3-qt. casserole or 13×9-inch baking dish.
TOP with stuffing. Bake 30 min. or until chicken is done.
Prepare and bake as directed; serve or cool. Refrigerate up to 24 hours. To reheat, spoon each serving on a microwaveable plate. Microwave on HIGH 2 to 3 min. or until heated through.