Four Eyes

January 13, 2010

Or maybe six eyes, or eight eyes. I’m not sure what you call people who don’t just have glasses but they also have bifocals. Yes, you read that right. I have bifocals. I have had them since 2007 or maybe it was 2008. I think it was 2007 though (I guess this shows I am getting old. I can’t remember when I got them and I have bifocals. And yes I am only 29.). I rarely used my bifocals because I was still able to read okay with my regular glasses. As of late, however, I have had to use my bifocals for some of my sewing work. It makes me feel old. I know I’m not really that old but seriously, I have bifocals, because technically, I NEED them.  When I first got them, Big Monkey picked on me quite a bit and said that he was going to go ahead and order me a seeing eye dog. (He likes to give me a hard time about these kinds of things. He has yet to need glasses and has never had a cavity. So I get to hear about that too!)

Monday night I went to take a shower and left my glasses on my nightstand (one of the two places I often leave them). When I got out of the shower and went to get my pajamas, I found Roland on the bed chewing on something. Darn him if it wasn’t my glasses! That crazy dog. He’s lucky to be alive today. (I feel like we say that about him a lot. He is lucky he is cute.) I tried to get my glasses back from him and when I did they looked like this:

Looks nice doesn't it?!?!?!

I was NOT happy. Yes it is true that I have been planning to have a new eye exam done and order new glasses online. The only problem with that is the company I plan to order from can take about two to three weeks to get here once I order them. I suppose I could wear these, except that the frames are also very bent and I am afraid that some more glass could come off and go in my eye. Thankfully when I had my last eye exam, I purchased three pairs of glasses in a buy one get two free deal. I had my regular glasses, sunglasses and bifocals. So the good news here is that I do have glasses to wear while I wait for new ones to come in. I scheduled an eye exam and will be going later today. Then I plan to come home and order my glasses. Until then, I will be four eyes, or six eyes, or eight eyes, wearing my bifocals unless I’m driving my car and it is sunny. In which case, I will be wearing my sunglasses. It has been an adjustment wearing my bifocals but it has only been one day of full-time use. I tend to look right where the line is that separates the two lenses.