Book Review: The Unlikely Disciple

Back in January, Casey reviewed The Unlikely Disciple on his blog. I had heard about it before that and decided that I wanted to check it out. Since we don’t have money to spend on buying books that we will read one time, I decided to check the library. They didn’t have it but it did show it was on order. I kept checking back so that I would be able to check it out. Once it became available to put on hold, I did and almost immediately there was a waiting list of eight people waiting for the book! I was first in line, so I was excited to get the book, but also worried that I wouldn’t finish it in time. I don’t remember the last book I read completely, especially in a short time frame. Since there was a waiting list, I would not be able to renew my checkout time on the book.

Thankfully the book was a good, easy and pretty quick read. The more I read, the more I wanted to keep reading to hear about Kevin’s experiences. The author, Kevin Roose, was a student at Brown but he transferred to Liberty for a different experience. It was interesting to see that there were plenty of people at Liberty who also struggled with very tough issues. I didn’t expect to find that out. I mean, sure everyone struggles with something but  I just didn’t expect to find so much of that at Liberty.

The book also made me think about how we see other people. Most of the folks at Liberty thought that Kevin was a Christian when he was there. And from the outside looks of it, he was doing “all the right things” that one would expect from a Christian. Bible studies, singing in the church choir, prayer time in the chapel with his partner. He sure had some folks fooled. This made me wonder-who are we fooling and who is fooling us. Even if you can fool everyone around you into thinking that you are the best Christian, God knows your real heart and mind and you can’t fool him.

Since it was a fast read, I finished it in less than a week! Amy had wanted to read it too, so I offered it to her since it wasn’t due back to the library yet. She too finished it rather quickly. You can read her review here. If you want to read it and can’t get it from the library, you can look here at Amazon for it.

Leave a Reply

