Ask And You Shall Receive

I’m pretty sure this story is not exactly what the God was talking about. But since I had just been at BSF, I was able to see that God does care for us and provides for us even in the smallest situations.

I LOVE Chick-fil-a! I’m sure we all already knew that. But Tuesday, Little Monkey and I had an experience that made me LOVE Chick-fil-a even more. One of his friends from BSF had been asking her mom if they could go to Chick-fil-a for lunch with us again and we figured out Tuesday would work out great because Little Monkey had a doctor’s appointment and we needed to stay in town for the appointment. We had the best of plans, meet Big Monkey on his way home from work so he could have Little Monkette, go to BSF, meet G and Miss H at Chick-fil-a, go to doctor’s appointments and then back home. Things didn’t quite go as planned. Well everything in the list happened, but not everything quite on time. And while we were in lecture at BSF, I suddenly wondered where I had put the travel scale. It wasn’t in my purse and I figured it was in the car but I messaged Big Monkey and he informed me that I had left it on the counter! Oh NO! What would we do now?

Since Little Monkey had a blood draw that day, his food records needed to be very accurate. I didn’t feel comfortable with guessing how much the fries weighed. Little Monkey and I talked about it on the way to Chick-fil-a and I told him I was sorry that I forgot his scale but that I would save him some fries for after he saw the doctor. Little Monkey seemed sad but said okay. He was exited to get to see G and play on the playground with her. We went in and I ordered my lunch and made my fries and drink a large size so I would be sure to have some leftover for Little Monkey after his appointment.

After we got our food, I had the following conversation with the cashier:
Me: I know this is going to sound like a really weird question, but I’m going to ask it anyhow.
Cashier: Okay.
Me: By chance do you happen to have a food scale in the kitchen? My son has this food issue and we have to weigh his food (Blah blah blah way more information than she needed to know).
Cashier: (Looking at me puzzled and like I’m a bit crazy) I’m not sure.
Cashier asks Manager about scale.
Manager: I’m sorry, what are you looking for?
Me: Do you have a food scale that we could weigh some food on? (More blah blah information than he wanted too)
Manager: Yes we have one.
Me: Really? Could we use it just to weigh out a few fries?
Manager: Just a few fries?
Me: Yes?
Manager goes and get the scale, cleans it off, gets a napkin and allows me to use the scale to weigh out fries for Little Monkey.
Me: Thank you! (My heart was jumping I was SO excited.)

I’m sure the employees probably thought we were a bit crazy but I was SO excited. It really was something so small for them to do (thankfully the lunch rush hadn’t started yet so I wasn’t really bothering them too much) but it really meant a lot to me and Little Monkey. The small gesture and the  fact that they even had a scale to begin with was amazing to me and just made my day. Little Monkey got to have fries and eat his lunch with G and then go play on the playground instead of having to wait a few hours until he saw the doctor and then have some leftover fries.

So, THANK YOU Chick-fil-a for always having great service and for listening and helping out your customers. I don’t think you can really even understand how BIG of a deal this was for me and Little Monkey. (PS Everybody-I also called Chick-fil-a to let them know about our experience. I know it’s nice to hear good things about your store and not just the bad stuff. Hopefully the store will get the report back to them and see what a big deal it really was to us!)

One Response to Ask And You Shall Receive

  1. amypaul says:

    So great! And last night’s experience was almost equally as great if you ask me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

