Tshirt Made By Me!

Yesterday, Amy came over for a crafternoon. We were going to try to cut fabric with the Cricut machine. After a few stops at the stores to find the right size cutting mat (we needed a new one) we were ready to start trying it out.

On Tuesday, Joy’s Life had posted this tutorial of how she cut fabric on her Cricut. (BTW-If you have a Cricut, go check around her site. LOTS of great tutorials and other fun stuff!) We started with her settings and tutorial but we did not have the Heat n Bond that she was using. We had Steam a Seam 2, which was recommended on another tutorial. We first cut out a heart and while it did okay, it did not cut all the way through both the fabric and paper on the back.

We decided to try again but look up the other tutorial we had seen before. This one is actually a video on You Tube. We changed our settings to what they used and tried again. The heart came out fine so we decided to try some letters. Note: If you plan to cut out letters and you are using the tutorial from You Tube, you will want to FLIP the letters so they will come out right when you are done. I ended up with a backwards L! The letters came out okay, except for one because the fabric had gotten caught and moved around a little during the cutting process. It will take some practice, but I think this is something we could do!

After everything was cut, we ironed the pieces onto the shirt (after much debate about where to put the letters. Originally I was going to put them near the top center of the shirt but had issues deciding what would work best with “the girls” so we opted for the bottom. I actually really like it. I hope it washes and wears well. Once the letters were on, I ran a quick stitch around all the pieces on the sewing machine. I think the white thread helps accent it just a bit. I can’t wait to wear it out!

My New Shirt!

Here is a close up of the design:

Love it!

I ran across a few “parties” this morning, so I am linking up to the following:

giveaways

make it wear itGo check out all these great blogs and many other fun projects!!

10 Responses to Tshirt Made By Me!

  1. Andrea says:

    Now I wish I had a cricut! I love it! Stop on by and link up for my weekly party Make It Wear It @ TheTrainToCrazy.com!

  2. Joy says:

    Hey, thanks for mentioning my site! I’m glad you found the tutorial helpful and think your shirt turned out great…no matter whose tutorial you used, LOL!! Love that you placed the lettering at the bottom. Your shirt is so cute!!
    Joy
    http://www.joyslife.com

  3. […] check out my sister’s blog for the latest thing that Two Florida Girls are getting […]

  4. Mom says:

    Very cute!!!!

  5. Jingle says:

    Thanks so much for the links! Your shirt came out really cute! I need to give this a try…I got a deep cut blade for my birthday and I’m a little afraid of it! LOL!

  6. Fawnda says:

    Great T-shirt! I love doing t-shirt refashions! : )

  7. Great job that is darling!

  8. Cheryl says:

    AWESOME! I’ll have to check out that site… I love learning new things to do with my Cricut. 🙂

Leave a Reply

