Margarita Cupcakes with Lime Frosting

I came across this recipe a bit ago from one of the link up parties I was checking out. I decided to try it out and add this frosting to it. Normally margarita anything would not excite me in the least but there had been an incident recently with friends who wanted some margaritas and were having trouble getting them. (The wife suggested to the husband to bring her one but it appears he forgot. When I saw this recipe, I thought it would be perfect to make for her.)

Margarita Cupcakes

Make a white cake mix but instead of water, use margarita mix. Cook as directed on the cake mix box. After cooling, add frosting.

Ready for icing

I was making these at the same time as the 4th of July cupcakes. Jealous of their fun colors, I decided these needed some color too! I added some neon green food coloring to the batter a cooked up the rest. They reminded me of Shrek!

In the oven--and quite green!

Next, get going on the frosting!

Lime Frosting

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1 tablespoon butter or margarine, softened
1/4 teaspoon finely shredded lime peel (optional)
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 tablespoon milk (or more)

Beat together powdered sugar, butter or margarine, lime peel, and lime juice. Add enough milk to make spreadable.

Sorry for no pictures of the finished product yet. I made the frosting and took it along with us to decorate the cupcakes at the campground. Hopefully I will remember to take a picture of them and post it here!

Hope you enjoy these! I had never made them before this time but I can tell you (from just eating the cupcake) that the cupcake is good. The frosting will have to wait for testing while we are camping!

Leave a Reply

