4th of July Cupcakes

I came across this idea the other day and decided that the kids on the camping trip might like them better than Margarita cupcakes. The only bad news for me meant, two sets of cupcakes and frosting. These kids better be happy with their cupcakes! I don’t know why this idea didn’t cross my mind before seeing as I had already made rainbow cupcakes!

4th of July Cupcakes

Use white boxed cake mix.
Divide into thirds.
Add red food coloring to one bowl and blue food coloring to another bowl. Leave the third bowl white.

Festive!

Add the batters to your cupcake liners in any fashion you would like. I ended up making two versions. One I layered the frostings, blue, then white, then red.

These turned out well. Fun colors and striped when you bite in!

The other I just blobbed into the cupcake liners.

These were all different. Lots of fun!

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Let cool.

Next is the frosting. Tidy Mom decided to make her frosting. I am a bit more lazy (plus I was already making lime frosting for the Margarita cupcakes). Since I was taking these camping, I bought store frosting and passed on adding the colors to it. Maybe next time.

Hopefully the kids will enjoy them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

