Desk Makeover

Remember these??

Redeemed from the trash!

I finally got to work on one of them….it took a long time..but I eventually got all the way through the process!

First, I cleaned it up some and let Little Monkey pick out what color he wanted. Of course he said green, because, “Green is my favorite color.” I got the spray paint, taped up the desk and went to town. All the metal became green. And then it sat in our garage for probably over a month. After hearing Big Monkey complain about it long enough, I made sure to finish up the project this past week. (Well for one desk that is!)

I pulled it out of the garage and taped up all the metal parts. I roughed up the wooden parts with some sandpaper.  Then I took the black spray paint and sprayed all the wooden parts. I lightly sprayed over the top of the desk too. I planned to spray over it with chalkboard paint but I wanted it to have something else to hold onto.

Black paint drying.

Once it was settled and dry, I pulled the tape and paper off everything and sprayed the chalkboard paint on top of the desktop. We let that cure overnight before trying it out.

Ready to be chalk primed.

Now that it was done, we just took a piece of chalk and rubbed it all over the top and then wiped it off. Then Little Monkey (and Little Monkette) was ready to check it out. He is enjoying writing his name and drawing on the desk.

Cool new chalkboard desk!

I have another desk (as you see in the picture) to spray paint and finish up for my friend too! I will share it when it is ready!

I am sharing this post at:
The Girl Creative

Making

5 Responses to Desk Makeover

  1. julie ryan says:

    Really cute idea! Love the chalkboard top!

  2. Absolutely adorable!

    Please link up to my link party with this desk project. SO cute!

    All About The Boy @ The Nifty Nest!

    Liz

  3. Felicia says:

    Oooh! So Jealous! Wish I had one!

  4. Erin Keith says:

    Your desk looks wonderful!! I love the green!!

    I know what you mean about finishing part of a project and then it sitting for months. I have a half a dozen finished projects lining my garage and more in the basement. Every week I just make myself decide which thing to follow all the way through. It’s just more exciting at the beginning. 🙂

    Thanks for your comments, have a great week!!

    Erin

  5. Super cute desk. I came across this while searching for ideas for a metal desk of my own. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

