My Life With Husqvarna

Husqvarna Viking Serger!

Can you imagine getting that amazing machine for free? Boy would I love to! Sew Mama Sew is having a giveaway of that very machine! Can you even imagine what this kind of machine could do for someone? I’d like to imagine what it could do for me.

Today In My World

I have an old sewing machine (it is probably older than I am) that I got from Freecycle. I have invested in it one $50 tune up and plenty of time sewing projects for gifts, a few for myself and lots for our little shop. I also have a combo sewing/embroidery machine that I use only for embroidery and really need to play around with more. I only use it so far for putting names on things like ribbon tag blankets for baby gifts. It has more capabilities but I have not gotten them all figured out. I really need to spend the time to play with it more and truly use it to its full potential.

My “studio,” as some folks might call it, is a small section of our master bedroom. Not ideal but it is the space I have. I try to keep it organized so that my husband (and I) don’t feel like the crafting is taking over our space. I have a small desk that I rescued from trash and a nine cubbie hole shelving unit that I bought at Target. I also have an old cedar chest that belonged to my Great Great Aunt where I store all my fabrics. I wish I could tell you that they were so nicely folded and organized by color, print, size, etc, but let’s get real, they are just in there, folded in some fashion to fit! I have three other small drawer units that are stored in the closet and by my dresser to hold various crafting items as well (scraps, ribbons, paint, crayons, etc). I can already hear the oohhs and aahhs; you are all wishing that this was your studio too!

I am a VERY simple sewer. I learned to sew in elementary school (I think), middle school for sure, through 4-H. (We had a ‘city’ 4-H group, none of that cow and chicken raising!) Sewing is like riding a bike, once you learn, it just takes a little practice to remember it and start creating again. I got my current sewing machine when my husband asked me to sew him a blanket for his bed at work. He wanted me to use his old fire department shirts to make a creative and unique blanket. I hadn’t done this before and hadn’t sewn in awhile but I told him that I would do it! (Isn’t it amazing what you will do for love! 🙂 )

I really want to learn to make clothes for my daughter. She is just now starting to walk (only a few steps) so I know she would love adorable in some great dresses. Lil Blue Boo has some fun patterns that I want to get to make her some outfits by upcycling our old t-shirts. The way Lil Blue Boo makes them uses a serger and since I don’t have one, I haven’t bought any of the patterns yet. (She does have directions to use a regular sewing machine too. I’m just not convinced yet that I like that look as much as the serged look!)

A New Day In My World, Now with Husqvarna

Every day my children awake so sweetly and don’t bug me to get their breakfasts but rather allow me to sleep in. They help themselves to breakfast and get dressed for the day. When I do wake up, they bring me my breakfast and suggest that I take a long relaxing shower. They tell me that they will be fine playing with each other in the mean time. I eat my breakfast and take a leisurely shower. Once we are all dressed and ready for the day, we all pick out some crafting projects to work on in our studio.

Our studio is amazing. Walls of shelving with neatly folded fabrics sorted by type and color. Neat jars line another shelf, filled with buttons, zippers, pins and other notions. There is a crafting area for the kids to explore and create anything they can think of while I work on all the projects I have floating around in my mind. I have a large center island that allows me to plan out projects, cut patterns and fabrics and piece together all my ideas into real tangible items. Along one wall I have my sewing machine, embroidery machine and my new Husqvarna Viking s21 Serger. All the machines are lined up like toy soldiers, ready to create amazing new gifts, clothes, shop items and anything else we might be able to come up with.

Today I am creating a new fall/winter wardrobe for the kids. I have some great fabrics picked out and everything has already been cut. Time to get to sewing! I love it when it all starts to come together and items that used to be flat pieces of fabric suddenly become amazing and fun new wearable art. The kids are having fun trying on their new items. My son even asked what store did I get them from. It must be that my clothes are looking amazing and just like store bought items that he was not able to recognize that it would be something that his mother could manage to make. Of course, just the other day I wouldn’t have been able to make these amazing clothes. It really is all thanks to the my new Husqvarna Viking s21 Serger!

Our little shop is booming with business and we are now able to make amazing creations with the serger. I invested in a few of Lil Blue Boo’s patterns (and also the limited license) so that we could create some of her cute dresses to sell in our shop. I love how fun her items are and I am enjoying the look of the serged edges. Everything is much cleaner and more professional looking.

It is pretty amazing how my life has changed with the addition of the Husqvarna Viking s21 Serger. There is no other way to explain it! (All imagining and joking aside, it would be amazing and awesome to win this serger. Of course it will not make my kids behave better or give me an amazing studio with which to do work in, but it will help me make some cute clothes for my kids and help our shop have more professional looking items.)

This post was written as an entry into Sew Mama Sew’s Back To School Husqvarna Viking Serger Giveaway.

3 Responses to My Life With Husqvarna

  1. amypaul says:

    Good job. Crossing my fingers! 🙂

  2. Dad says:

    nice creative writing. hope you win.

  3. Rachel D says:

    Thanks for your kind comment on my blog. I enjoyed browsing around your site and your Etsy shop – super cute hair clips! If only I had a girl to wear them… 🙂 Small world – I used to live in Central Florida, just north of Orlando in Lake Mary. I miss the warm beaches. Good luck on the giveaway – I’ll cross my fingers for you!

Leave a Reply

