The Ugly Doll

December 23, 2010

My best friend’s sister posted on Facebook recently looking for someone to make her daughter an Ugly Doll. I had no clue what it was but asked for a picture and told her I would make a go at it. The picture below was the example that she sent me from Amazon.com. She liked that doll best, so I based mine off of it.

Ugly Doll Chuckanuka

I looked at the doll and then tried to draw my own. I actually only drew half on the fold of the fleece fabric and then cut out two pieces of them.

Starting out

Once I had the shape down, I cut the face pieces out of felt and pinned them in place. He was already starting to look cute, I mean, ugly .

Deciding on felt piece locations.

Next, I sewed the eyes and teeth on with white thread and then the mouth with black thread. I used a zig-zag stitch to put the little ‘eyes’ in.

Sewn on felt pieces.

The next step was to sew right sides together. Then I flipped the ugly guy right side out. One hand got a little messed up, but I think he still ended up very cute. Now he was ready to be stuffed.

Ready to be stuffed!

I started shoving fiberfill into all his parts, making sure to fill his ears, arms and legs up well. Then I had to decide on his level of squishyness. I think he is perfect! I finished him off by sewing up the stuffing hole by hand (I HATE sewing by hand but it wasn’t too bad. Overall it was a fun project and I’m glad I decided to take it on for my friend.

Completed Ugly Doll!

I hope it met their expectations too! 🙂

I am sharing this post at:

monogram

