Gators Twirl!

This week I decided to test out the serger on the twirl skirts. The pattern from Lil Blue Boo was originally made with a serger in mind. I cut out pieces from some t-shirts that Holly gave me to make Sophia a Gator twirl skirt. Making this skirt with the serger was a breeze!!!! When I made the skirts with the sewing machine, it was already pretty quick, taking more time to cut it out than it did to sew it. Sewing it with the serger…SUPER FAST! I am in love! Now if I could just find a way to cut the t-shirts faster, I’d really be in business!

Gators Twirl!

The two grey sections came from two different Florida Gator shirts. The orange came from a plain orange shirt that was in my “shirts to skirts” pile. I also used the orange shirt to make the waistband. It was a bit more stretchy than normal t-shirts, so it ended up working out great.

Close up of writing panel

Since I was trying out the serger, I also ran the serger around the bottom of the skirt (I usually just left it raw, which is fine with t-shirt material since it doesn’t fray.). I love the look of the bottom edge being serged. It looks nicely finished and more professional. Now to make more skirts and get other colored threads for fun combos on the serger.

 

Florida Gator Girl!

I am sharing this post at:

giveaways

2 Responses to Gators Twirl!

  1. Rachel Sue says:

    THis is such a fun idea! I would love to feature it on my blog Reduce, Reuse, Upcycle. Thanks!

    http://reuseandupcycle.blogspot.com

  2. Bella says:

    AWESOME,,, GO GATORS!!!

    This is a fabulous idea, and how soft and fun, that skirt would be.

    I would LOVE if you shared this at my blog. You might even get featured, for a whole week on my blog ,if you make the top 10.

    I made my son an awesome GATOR CAKE, last year, you should see it, just search for GATOR CAKE, on my blog!!!

    Come say hi sometime!! Bella Before and After , and if you want to win an Avocado Painting, come enter myGIVEAWAY HERE, I really appreciate the support.

    Hugs,
    Bella 🙂

Leave a Reply

