Stop, Drop and Run 5k

For some strange reason, my friend D thought it would be a great idea for us to run a 5k. I was not as thrilled about the idea but we finally did decide to register for the run. We ended up running with four other people (three of D’s kids and another friend, K). Since the run was in Ocala and Big Monkey was going to be working, we had a sleepover at D’s house. It got us much closer to the race, so we only had to be up at 6:15 instead of probably leaving at 6:15.

Our group before the race K, me, D, Z, M and D

Stop, Drop and Run was a benefit run with Marion County Fire Rescue’s Union. They have two families within their department that are fighting cancer. It was also in memory of another family member that had passed away because of cancer. This run was the first 5k benefit run they were holding. Overall it went very smoothly and we will likely do it again next year if they have it. The only way to make it better would be to start the run earlier in the day (It was scheduled to start at 8:30 and didn’t start until 8:45 and it was getting hotter and hotter by the minute.) and to have more water on hand at the various water stations.

We all started out the race together but VERY quickly separated out mostly. D’s daughter (also a D) ran with me most of the time. We ran the entire first K and then some but then started walking and then running. I honestly should have been able to beat he but I let the heat and my brain get to me….and I came in last out of our group. Four of our six group members placed either first or second in their age group (once again, not me…I was 14th for my age group). I tracked my run on my phone with Endomondo. According to it, I finished the 5k in 39:08 but that also included me crossing the finish line, walking through the ropes and then over to the side to throw up. (Bummer but I think it was the Gatorade I drank mid-race because that was all they had by the time I got there and I needed something.) My offical time was posted but I honestly don’t remember what it was. No matter what though, even the 39:08 was a personal best for me, so I was happy with that. (Updated: I was able to look it up online! My official race finish time was 38:32!)

Little Monkey took this picture of me after I was crossing the finish line.

The Pink Heals fire truck and police car were there (along with a handful of local fire trucks). Little Monkey loved the trucks and took many pictures of them while waiting on us to cross the finish line! ๐Ÿ™‚ There was a three legged dog that ran the race with his owner (and beat me in of course) as well as a firefighter in full bunker gear running on his air tank (until it ran out of air). He finished the race with all the gear and the air pack on too (he also beat me).

Little Monkey with the Pink Heals Fire Truck

Everyone in our group that ran! ๐Ÿ™‚ Me, K, Z, D, M and D.

D has almost convinced us to do a four mile run on the 4th of July. We’ll see if we sign up for that one! ๐Ÿ™‚ Another friend, J and his wife L, has convinced all of us to do the Warrior Dash next March. Should be crazy and dirty but so far we have eight people agreeing to do it so we’ll have a good group!

One Response to Stop, Drop and Run 5k

  1. Melissa says:

    Hey you finished!! My motto-“Just Finish”! It was a great time wasn’t it. My first race too!! Believe it or not actually looking to do another after I said I would never run again:)

Leave a Reply

