Jean Skirt Makeover!

My friend D, from church, wore this rather short skirt to church one day. I talked to her and her mom and we decided to add some ruffles to the bottom to help add some length to the skirt.

Plain Skirt

Since D likes FSU (Although I don’t know why!) I decided to use FSU fabric to transform her skirt. Along the bottom of the front and the back, I put some pleated ruffles across it. Then on the front there were those two worn hole sections. I cut a piece of FSU fabric and sewed them behind it. So once the hole is really opened up, you’ll see the matching FSU fabric and not her legs!

FSU Skirt! Front

FSU Skirt Back

This project took me way too long to do but I was happy to make it for her and now she has a fun FSU skirt that is a little bit longer. I also found some invisible thread to use on this project to help make the seam lines less obvious. You can see where the line is in these photos but not as obvious as if I had used white thread. D liked how it turned out too (even better!).

I am sharing this post at:
Making


4 Responses to Jean Skirt Makeover!

  1. Lovely idea. I have always like blue jean skirts, but they were always too short for me, so here is an idea to add some length. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. sewforward says:

    I just made two jean skirts from two pairs of jeans – they’re great. I love wearing them albeit not at the same time . . .

  3. Vanessa says:

    Lovely idea. I have always like blue jean skirts, but they were always too short for me, so here is an idea to add some length. Thanks for sharing!
    +1

Leave a Reply

