Crockpot Santa Fe Chicken

I ran across this recipe on Pinterest and thought, “That looks pretty good and seems pretty simple. I’m going to give it a try.” So I pinned it to my food board and made plans to make it. The nice part of this crockpot meal was that it could cook either 10 hours on low or 6 hours on high. I think this is nice for people who work during the day because some crockpot meals are 4 or 8 hours and you just aren’t home from work in those time frames.

Santa Fe Chicken from Chef in Training.

I am using the photo from my Pinterest board, because my meal didn’t come out looking this nice, but it tasted great! I got all the ingredients out and measured up the night before because we would be out the door in the morning to head to bible study. Right before we left, I put everything into the crockpot and off we went. When we returned from bible study, the house was already smelling yummy.

Here is the recipe: (I got it from Chef in Training.)

CROCK POT SANTA FE CHICKEN
Recipe From: skinnytaste.com
  • 24 oz (1 1/2) lbs chicken breast
  • 14.4 oz can diced tomatoes with mild green chilies
  • 15 oz can black beans
  • 8 oz frozen corn
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 14.4 oz can fat free chicken broth
  • 3 scallions, chopped
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper (to taste)
  • salt to taste

Combine chicken broth, beans, corn, tomatoes, cilantro, scallions, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, cayenne pepper and salt in the crock pot.

Season chicken breast with salt and lay on top.
Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours.
Half hour before serving, remove chicken and shred.
Return chicken to slow cooker and stir in. Adjust salt and seasoning.

Serve over rice.

This is a Weight Watchers approved meal, if you are doing such a program. (We are not, but I thought it was nice to see that it wasn’t horrible for us.) You can get the point counts for it on Chef in Training’s page.
We will be making this meal again. It was easy and yummy. The only thing Big Monkey had to say about it was that I should use more chicken. (I probably used about half of what the recipe called for because it was what we had.) He said it was good but thought it would be better. Apparently I had talked it up too much.
2 Responses to Crockpot Santa Fe Chicken

  1. Holly says:

    I may try this one

  2. Emily Santora says:

    I make a variation of this only with no chicken broth and with a jar of salsa. Its one of our favorites.

Leave a Reply

