The Ponce Inlet Lighthouse

Little Monkey has asked many times to go to the Ponce Inlet Lighthouse and climb all the way to the top! I have told him before that he would need Big Monkey to take him because I wasn’t planning on climbing up there. I don’t really like being high up, so the lighthouse was not at all appealing to me. Lucky for Little Monkey, his Grammy decided we should go last week while we were staying at the beach. Big Monkey was out of the country on a mission trip, so he wasn’t available to climb the lighthouse. Bad news for me because Grammy’s knee wasn’t going to allow her to climb all the way to the top.

The Littles and Me at the door to the lighthouse.

Once Little Monkey and I made it all the way to the top, I took a picture of us up against the Lighthouse. I then decided that no one would care to see the black paint of the Lighthouse, so we took another one with the beach in the background.

Little Monkey and me at the top of the Lighthouse overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.

While we were up there, we tried to grab a picture of Little Monkette and Grammy waiting for us down at the bottom. I hadn’t thought about it until after they had taken our picture so they were already on the move.

I wrote their names right underneath them. It is hard to see though! They are in the middle of the picture. We were pretty high up!

The climb up wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It is 203 steps to the top. The biggest issue is how hot it is in the lighthouse. At some of the windows there would be a small breeze but that was it. I was sweating before making it all the way up (And we weren’t charging up the stairs like we do at the gym!) The climb back down was a little more difficult but not too bad. As I stood close to the inside edge, but not too close, I stretched my arms out and took a picture of the staircase with my phone.

The stairwell!

Overall, it was a fun experience and I’m glad Little Monkey finally got his wish! I don’t think I’ll need to climb up there any more but at least now I can say that I have done it. 🙂 If you are ever in the Ponce Inlet area, you might want to check out the Lighthouse too!

Leave a Reply

